Upcoming Walks and Events in Sheffield

New to the site? To join us on any of our walks contact us for details by Clicking Here.

We organise midweek health & healthier walks, Thursday evening walks during the spring & summer months, fortnightly Saturday walks and weekly Sunday walks. These all vary in length, and location, a list of our upcoming walks can be found below:

Contact Us Here! for details of meeting point and postcode of the walk you wish to join us on, a one off £2 registration fee applies. Please Note: For safety reasons a walk labeled as Strenuous in the Description is only available to current members.

 Please Bring a Packed Lunch and Drink (except Wednesdays and Thursday Evenings)

 

_______________________________________________

 

 

Saturday 17 February 2018

Langsett, Mickleton Edge, North America

Difficulty: MODERATE - 5.5 miles - 3 hr

Details: This is a walk which takes in views across open moorland as well as some woodland paths

Start time: 11.00am 

Contact us for meeting point


____________________________________________

Sunday 18 February 2018

Bradfield - Dukes Road

Difficulty: STRENUOUS - 12.5 miles - 6 hr 

CURRENT MEMBERS ONLY

____________________________________________

Wednesday 21 February 2018

Weekly Health Walk - Chapeltown

Difficulty: EASY - 3 to 4 miles - 1hr 50

Details: Shamblers Weekly Health Walk covering Chapeltown and surrounding area. Ending at a local pub for coffee.

Start time: 10.00am 

Contact us for meeting point

____________________________________________

Thursday 22 February 2018

Isle Of Skye - Wortley - Green Moor

Difficulty: MODERATE - 5.5 miles - 3 hr 15 min

Details: The walk starts in Wortley village , proceeding past the church down the fields to Wortley Top Forge then climbing up Well Hill road to Green Moor village.

Start time: 11.00am 

Contact us for meeting point


____________________________________________

 

 

More walks..

Walks below are subject to change

February 2018

Sunday 25 February – Tideswell + Wormhill – 8 miles

Wednesday 28 February - Chapeltown Health Walk – 4 miles

 

March 2018

 

Saturday 03 March – Denby Dale – 7 miles

Sunday 04 March – Pikelow – Members Only

Wednesday 07 March - Chapeltown Health Walk – 4 miles

Thursday 08 March – Edwinstowe – 5.25 miles

Sunday 11 March – Eyam + Abney Moor

Wednesday 14 March - Chapeltown Health Walk – 4 miles

Saturday 17 March - Monsal Dale to Ashford In The Water - 6.5 miles

Sunday 18 March - Worsborough + Castle - Members Only

Wednesday 21 March - Chapeltown Health Walk – 4 miles

Thursday 22 March - Isle Of Skye - 5.5 miles

Sunday 25 March – Parwich Minninglow Hill – 9 miles

Wednesday 28 March - Chapeltown Health Walk – 4 miles

Saturday 31 March – Tideswell Dale – 5.25 miles

 

April 2018

 

Sunday 01 April – Hade Edge Holmfirth – Members Only

Wednesday 04 April - Chapeltown Health Walk – 4 miles

Thursday 05 April – Don Valley Stage 1 – 6.5 miles

Sunday 08 April – Malin Bridge via Stannington – 9.5 miles

Wednesday 11 April - Chapeltown Health Walk – 4 miles

Thursday Eve 12 April – City Centre – 4 miles

Saturday 14 April - Crystal Palace - 5.5 miles

Sunday 15 April – Bakewell Magpie Mine – Members Only

Wednesday 18 April - Chapeltown Health Walk – 4 miles

Thursday 19 April – Oughtibridge – 6 miles

Sunday 22 April – Elsecar Black Diamonds – 10 miles

Wednesday 25 April - Chapeltown Health Walk – 4 miles

Thursday Eve 26 April - Winscar Reservoir - 5.5 miles

Saturday 28 April - Castle Hill - 6 miles

Sunday 29 April – Errwood Res Shining Tor – Members Only

 

May 2018

 

Wednesday 02 May - Chapeltown Health Walk – 4 miles

Thursday 03 May – Don Valley Stage 2 – 6.5 miles

Saturday 05 May – Hope Castle, Dale Fort and Ridge – Members Only

Sunday 06 May – Hathersage, Abney, Offerton – 9.5 miles

Wednesday 09 May - Chapeltown Health Walk – 4 miles

Thursday Eve 10 May – Stannington – 5 miles

Saturday 12 May – Coach Trip - Arboretum – Members Only

Sunday 13 May – On The Edge Stanage – Members Only

Wednesday 16 May - Chapeltown Health Walk – 4 miles

Thursday 17 May – Elsecar – 6 miles

Saturday 19 May – Snake Path – Members Only

Sunday 20 May – Bamford Round – 9 miles

Wednesday 23 May - Chapeltown Health Walk – 4 miles

Thursday Eve 24 May - Langsette Loop - 5 miles

Saturday 26 May - Derwent Edge - 6 miles

Sunday 27 May – Curber Froggat - Members Only

Wednesday 30 May - Chapeltown Health Walk – 4 miles

Thursday 31 May - Langsette- 6 miles

 

 

Social Events

Exlusive to our registered members

We source out and subsidise great deals for social events anything from meals out, Ten Pin Bowling, Murder Mysteries, Live Entertainment, Casino nights, Yorkshire Wildlife Park, Days out in York, Whitby, Flamborough & Llandudno, Ghost walks, Crown Green bowling, Yorkshire Mining Museum, The Deep in Hull, Disco themed nights to weekends away where we have 3 walks of suitability each day from Easy, Moderate and Strenurous, so there is something for eveyone.

2017 will see our weekend away based in Keswick.

Over the years we have had some fantastic group holiday too, no more paying out for expensive singles holidays and all with the option of planned walks, or for our members just to relax and enjoy the sun, countries visited by our shamblers on tour include Turkey, Tunisia, Egypt, Greece and Gran Canaria.

 

Details of our events can be found on our  forum once you have formally joined us.

Mining museum  

 

 

 

 

 

Peak District in winter
 

Why not join us?

A one off £2 joining fee on your first walk is all it costs, after this all walks are free, you remain a member as long as you attend a walk within a 3 month period.

On each walk we have an optional £1 50/50 raffle draw this enables us to get a few funds so we can subsidise socials and trips as well as maintain this website and our indemnity insurance. Again its optional. everyone associated with the planning and running of The Shamblers and all our walk leaders are dedicated volunteers.

 

 

 

stannage
Hope Valley