Upcoming Walks and Events in Sheffield

New to the site? To join us on any of our walks contact us for details by Clicking Here.

We organise midweek health & healthier walks, Thursday evening walks during the spring & summer months, fortnightly Saturday walks and weekly Sunday walks. These all vary in length, and location, a list of our upcoming walks can be found below:

Contact Us Here! for details of meeting point and postcode of the walk you wish to join us on, a one off £2 registration fee applies. Please Note: For safety reasons a walk labeled as Strenuous in the Description is only available to current members.

 Please Bring a Packed Lunch and Drink (except Wednesdays and Thursday Evenings)

 

Wednesday 20 September 2017

Health Walk - Chapeltown

Description: Easy

Details: Shamblers Weekly Health Walk covering Chapeltown and surrounding area. aproximately 1 hour 50 mins ending at a local pub for coffee.

Start time: 9.45am for 10.00am start

Thursday 21 September 2017

Whiston to Ulley

Description.

Starting from the village of Whiston, we make our way via an old track, over a motorway foot-bridge and on to upper Whiston. Then taking a mixture of quiet roads and field paths we walk uphill to Ulley Village. Onto Ulley Reservoir and our lunch stop at this pretty fishing/boating reservoir with its varied bird wildlife. Our return to Whiston takes us via the pretty church with its ancient lichgate.

This is approx. 5.5 mile walk and is moderate. It is an 'undulating' walk with uphills, but not too difficult.

Start time: 10.30am

Sunday 24 September 2017 

Chapeltown, Scholes and Wentworth

Starting from Chapeltown Library, we  walk through woods and fields, along paths and tracks to Scholes village, into Wentworth Park, up to Wentworth Woodhouse, into Wentworth village and back. We will be stopping for our picnic lunch in Wentworth.

This is a 9 mile walk and is easy/ moderate. It will take about 5 hours.

Start time: 10.30 am 

 

 

More walks..

September 2017

Weds 27 September - Health Walk & Meal
Saturday 30 September - Crystal Palace – 5.5 miles 

October 2017

Sunday 1 October - Rushup Edge - 10 miles
Wednesday 4 October - Health Walk - 4 miles
Thursday 5 October - Birley Edge - 6 miles
Sunday 8 October - Newmillerdam - 9 miles
Wednesday 11 October - Health Walk - 4 miles
Saturday 14 October - Wharncliffe Crags - 6.5 miles
Sunday 15 October - Marsden Moor - 10 miles
Wednesday 18 October - Health Walk - 4 miles
Thursday 19 October - Canyards - 7 miles
Sunday 22 October - Stanton Moor - 8 miles
Wednesday 25 October - Health Walk - 4 miles
Saturday 28 October - Bowden Tinsley - 7 miles
Sunday 29 October - Chelmorton - 9 miles

November 2017

Wednesday 1 November - Health Walk - 4 miles
Thursday 2 November - Morehall & Broomhead - 6 miles
Sunday 5 November - Eyam - 9 miles
Wednesday 8 November - Health Walk - 4 miles
Saturday 11 November - High Hoyland - 7 miles
Sunday 12 November - Lose Hill/ Edale - 10 miles
Wednesday 15 November - Health Walk - 4 miles
Thursday 16 November - Rotherham Canal - 6 miles
Sunday 19 November - Glen Howe  - 8.5 miles
Wednesday 22 November - Health Walk - 4 miles
Saturday 25 November - Wentworth Castle - 7 miles
Sunday 26 November - Alstonefield - 9 miles
Wednesday 29 November - Health Walk & Meal - 4 miles
Thursday 30 November - Wharncliffe - Crags - miles

December 2017

Sunday 3 December - Heath & Sutton Scarsdale - 8 miles
Wednesday 6 December - Health Walk - 4 miles
Saturday 9 December - Treeton - 7 miles
Sunday 10 December - Ringinglow - 10.5 miles
Wednesday 13 December - Health Walk - 4 miles
Thursday 14 December - Cusworth Hall - 4.5 miles
Sunday 17 December - Howbrook - 9 miles
Wednesday 20 December - Health Walk - 4 miles
Saturday 23 December - Bradfield - 6 miles
Sunday 24 December NO WALK 
Wednesday 27 December - Health Walk - 4 miles
Thursday 28 December - Finkle Street - 6 miles
Sunday 31 December NO WALK

January 2018

Wednesday 3 January - Health Walk - 4 miles
Saturday 6 January - Millthorpe - 5.5 miles
Sunday 7 January - Wyming Brook - 7 miles
Wednesday 10 January - Health Walk - 4 miles
Thursday 11 January - Oughtiibridge/ Holdsworth - 6.5 miles
Sunday 14 January - Hathersage - 9 miles
Wednesday 17 January - Health Walk - 4 miles
Saturday 20 January - Oxspring - 7 miles
Sunday 21 January - Edale Mam Tor - 10 miles
Wednesday 24 January - Health Walk - 4 miles
Thursday 25 January - Edwinstowe - 5.25 miles
Sunday 28 January - Anston Stones & Carvery - 7 miles
Wednesday 31 January - Health Walk - 4 miles 

 

Social Events

Exlusive to our registered members

We source out and subsidise great deals for social events anything from meals out, Ten Pin Bowling, Murder Mysteries, Live Entertainment, Casino nights, Yorkshire Wildlife Park, Days out in York, Whitby, Flamborough & Llandudno, Ghost walks, Crown Green bowling, Yorkshire Mining Museum, The Deep in Hull, Disco themed nights to weekends away where we have 3 walks of suitability each day from Easy, Moderate and Strenurous, so there is something for eveyone.

2017 will see our weekend away based in Keswick.

Over the years we have had some fantastic group holiday too, no more paying out for expensive singles holidays and all with the option of planned walks, or for our members just to relax and enjoy the sun, countries visited by our shamblers on tour include Turkey, Tunisia, Egypt, Greece and Gran Canaria.

 

Details of our events can be found on our  forum once you have formally joined us.

Mining museum  

 

 

 

 

 

Peak District in winter
 

Why not join us?

A one off £2 joining fee on your first walk is all it costs, after this all walks are free, you remain a member as long as you attend a walk within a 3 month period.

On each walk we have an optional £1 50/50 raffle draw this enables us to get a few funds so we can subsidise socials and trips as well as maintain this website and our indemnity insurance. Again its optional. everyone associated with the planning and running of The Shamblers and all our walk leaders are dedicated volunteers.

 

 

 

stannage
Hope Valley